Hello, Newman

If you know Seinfeld, you know Newman was Jerry’s nemesis, and how Jerry always greeted him with suspicion and dislike.

That would be me today. My nemesis? My skin issues. I had a few spoonfuls of Purely Decadent (gluten-free) cookie dough ice cream last night, ice cream I’ve had before so I didn’t check the label. I thought all of the Purely Decadent line were made with coconut milk, which is fine for me. But Newman, my sneaky nemesis, is trickier than I gave him credit for.

I woke up this morning and could feel skin flare-ups just starting on my face, and my energy felt lower than normal. I went to hot yoga, and ended up getting really overheated towards the end. (Yes, it’s hot yoga, yes, you are supposed to be hot, but this was more of an unwell hot).

I came home, and checked the ice cream from last night (and thinking I would add a bit to my oatmeal this morning). But there was NEWMAN! The ice cream was made with soy milk.

My energy feels depleted, my stomach isn’t quite happy with me, and my face is feeling itchy and warm and uncomfortable. Well played, Newman, well played. You might have won this round, but you have not won the war.

So, what’s a girl to do who is in the middle of a reaction? Pump in good healing stuff to help my body recover.

Good medicine pineapple smoothie
2 1/2 cups 100% pineapple juice
1 cup water
3 probiotic capsules
3 spirulina capsules
1 scoop Amazing Grass Green Superfood
2 handfuls spinach
1 chard leaf
~1 cup frozen mango chunks
~1 cup frozen peach slices

Blend, blend, blend, and then enjoy a tropical medicine concoction that will have you feeling better in no time, mun.

Leave a Reply

