The world’s happiest oatmeal

The days are starting to warm up a bit here finally, but the mornings are still CHILLY for the most part!

I come home from hot yoga a drippy, puddly, sweaty version of me (Husband loves when I try to give him a hug when I get home…or maybe he actually runs away in terror…), throw on my FABULOUS pajamas and take the wonderpup out for a walk.

By the time I get back, I’m starving and freezing.

Oatmeal to the rescue!

Lately, all of my oatmeal concoctions have featured chocolate nut butter of some sort, this week it is Justin’s Chocolate Hazelnut butter, last week it was his Chocolate Almond Butter.

Below are some of the recent (and very yummy!) variations:

Creamy chocolate oatmeal (the base is the same for all):

Base:
1 cup unsweetened “milk” of choice (I use almond or coconut)
1/2 cup Bob’s Red Mill GF oats
1 tbsp ground flax seed
cinnamon and nutmeg to taste

When cooked, put 1 tbsp chocolate nut butter on bottom of bowl, pour the cooked oats on top, and top with 2 tbsp plain yogurt (I use So Delicious Coconut milk yogurt).
Stir and try not to lick the bowl when you are done!

Pumpkin Chocolate Oatmeal:
When oats are cooking according to base recipe, stir in 2 tbsp canned pumpkin. When done, put in 1 tbsp chocolate hazelnut butter on the bottom of the bowl and mix in. It gets all nice and melty this way! We had some canned cherries in the house this week, and I topped the oatmeal with a few of the cherries and stirred in. Yum!

Reese’s Peanut butter cup oatmeal (but healthier!):
Cook oatmeal according to base.
When done, add 1 tbsp chocolate nut butter and 1 tbsp natural peanut butter to the bottom of the bowl and pour hot oats on top. It’s like having dessert for breakfast!

Leave a Reply

