Pour a cup of happiness – vegan pumpkin latte

For as long as I can remember, my dad has always called me pumpkin. I love it, I always have.

But recently, one could believe that I am trying to not just be called pumpkin, but to turn into one. Lots of pumpkin smoothies and puddings, and the newest addition, pumpkin lattes – either with coffee or just milk, pumpkin and spices blended together.

The past few mornings, I’ve had the no-coffee versions, I first got the idea from Heather eats almond butter and from Oh she glows.

In a saucepan, I would add 1 cup unsweetened coconut milk beverage, about 1/3 cup pumpkin purée, 1tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1 tsp minced Ginger, and a couple drops of vanilla stevia. Whisk together, heat till almost boiling, and enjoy a perfect pumpkin latte that you can enjoy any time (no caffeine to keep you awake!), and bonus, it has fiber and vitamins, without the calories and sugar of coffee shop pumpkin drinks.

This morning, even though I got in a great run, I needed a bit more of a boost.

I brewed a cup of coffee (we are currently back to using our Keurig system, so convenient – you just make one cup at a time!), and then combined it In a saucepan with the milk, pumpkin, and spices. But instead of vanilla stevia, I used some So Delicious vanilla coconut milk creamer. Added the perfect sweetness and creaminess to my latte. It was one of those really great drink moments when you hate to reach the bottom of the cup.

Considering I paired it with a pumpkin, flax seed, oatmeal pudding for breakfast, I think I really am Pumpkin now!

Leave a Reply

