Gluten-free, vegan, soy-free mac n cheese? Yes, please!

Had a pretty good long run today, although I ran at noon and it was pretty warm in the sun (or, most of the run). Felt a bit tired, and stopped to have some water or walk for around 30 seconds a few times, but I was still happy with how I did.

Details:
Distance: 5.42 miles
Time: 46:12 minutes
Pace: 8:31 min/mile

I had my chocolate pudding for breakfast/pre-run fuel…but then I managed to go about the rest of my day without eating anything except two slices of gluten-free cinnamon raisin bread. Oops!

By the time I got home from grocery shopping a little while ago, I was a very hungry monster!

Mac N Cheese and Peas to the rescue!
3/4 package Tinkyada gluten-free pasta (this stuff is GOOD)
3/4 cup frozen peas, thrown in pasta water about a minute before the pasta is done

When peas and pasta are done and rinsed, mix up the sauce:
~3/4 cup Daiya mozzarella cheese – this stuff is a miracle. Dairy-free, casein-free, soy-free vegan cheese, that tastes great, melts, and gets all stretchy. They are geniuses.
1 tsp dijon mustard
1/2 tbsp white balsamic vinegar
1/2 cup nutritional yeast
1 1/2 – 2 tbsp olive oil
pinch of salt.

Mmmmmm! And Husband approved – he liked it as much as I did!

Leave a Reply

