Spice pudding and a good workout can fix a bad day

Yesterday was a bit frustrating, and I was majorly in need of a run when I got home. Running is many things for me – joy, health, it keeps me feeling good emotionally, it keeps me feeling like me…and it is one of the best ways for me to get out frustrations and anger. I have just always found that it is hard to stay in a bad mood after you pound the pavement and work up a good sweat.

Last night’s run definitely disc what I needed it to, and I came home very much looking forward to a yummy post-run/dinner pudding.

I was intending to make apple pie pudding, but it was more like a spice pudding. It was so very perfect!

Into the blender went:
1 cup almond milk
2 dates to sweeten
1 scoop amazing grass chocolate green superfood
2 scoops vanilla hemp protein powder
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp nutmeg
3 big spoonfuls of Trader Joes chunky apples
1 avocado
1 tsp maple syrup

Blend till creamy. I heated up a few little pieces of my mom’s pumpkin bread that she made gluten-free, dairy-free and made with date sugar to accommodate my food sensitivities. My mom is awesome 🙂 I topped the pudding with the pumpkin bread and drizzled on some macadamia nut butter. Perfection!

Run details:
treadmill – 2.08 miles
Time: 17:20 minutes
Pace: 8:19 min/mile

Run home from the gym
Distance: 1.17 mi
Time: 9:36 min
Pace: 8:12 min/mile

Total: 3.25 miles
Time: 26:56

2 responses to “Spice pudding and a good workout can fix a bad day

  1. If I keep reading, maybe I’ll be so entirely motivated I’ll do it myself. I’d love to start jogging/running again. I did do it once. I had a good thing going until I found out I was preggers. Can’t push the limits with a nugget in the oven. 🙂 Now to find the time when that nugget and his nugget-sis aren’t holding tightly to the legs. 🙂

    • Hey sweetie! Could you neighbor swap? Have a neighbor mom with kids watch the nuggets for 30-45 minutes so you could go for a run, then you could trade, and take her kids so she could run to the grocery store without hers? It always feels so good to do something good for yourself, and you’d have more energy to keep up with the munchkins! xo

Leave a Reply

