Growing photographically

This year, I’ve grown a ton and faced some big fears, photography-wise.When I started shooting, maybe fours years ago now, I had no idea what I was doing, I just knew I had fallen in love. I shot entirely in automatic, and while I learned that I had a pretty good eye and people liked the images I made, I was entirely intimidated by my camera. My boyfriend at the time, and even my dad, tried to explain photography to me, and I just didn’t get it. Aperture, shutter speed, ISO, it made no sense to me, and I felt like I would never be able to understand it.

Because I don’t like not being good at something, I built walls around photography. I was convinced that I would never understand it, so I didn’t even want to try. I said I was happy shooting the way I was, and I didn’t want to learn more. The truth was that I did want to learn and understand more, I was just afraid. I was also afraid to call myself a photographer because I had no idea what I was doing.

Maybe a year ago, I received Photoshop elements, thinking that would make my photography better….but I was intimidated by that as well. There were so many things it could do, and even though I had a tutorial book, It was too much, too overwhelming, and it made me shut down. I didn’t use it again for months.

But this year, I decided to face those fears. I knew if I really wanted to grow as a photographer, if I wanted to pursue my dreams with it, I had to jump into the water, no more dancing around on the edge afraid to go in. I started reading some online tutorials, and photographers like Karen at Chookooloonks really helped me, with her easy to understand technical explanations. Suddenly, I started to go from being afraid to being intrigued and interested.

I took a photography workshop with Okello Dunkley, and all of a sudden, the stuff that never made sense, the stuff that intimidated me, started to make sense, and it started to be fun! And I loved that I now had more control over my photos, and I started noticing improvements.

I took an online Photoshop class with Kim Klassen and started to fall in love with textures and layers, and what I could do with them, like the photos in this post.

Now, I shoot entirely in manual, and I love that I know how to correct problems. I’m taking another photography workshop next weekend, and I’m excited to learn even more. Big change from the girl who used to actively resist this stuff!

2 responses to “Growing photographically

  1. Oh you sound like me, but I never found the courage to set forth and learn and grow and make nice with my camera and all its scary functions. I’m still a photographer wannabe. I love to play when I can find the time…which is hardly ever anymore!
    You’re stuff is beautiful and only getting better. 🙂

    • Thank you sweets!! It’s definitely hard to always make the time for it, but I always find it makes me so happy. When I go for a while without shooting, and then pick up my camera again, I’m always like…oh yeahh! I hope you keep playing with the camera. 🙂

Leave a Reply

