Mango in the house!

Husband and I often have green smoothies for dinner. I started having green smoothies when my health started to plummet. My nutritionist recommended them as a great way to pack in TONS of nutrients. I had started seeing them all over BlogLand – from the Pure2Raw twins, from Angela at Oh She Glows, and her Green Monster movement.

I have to admit, I’ve never been great about eating greens. I certainly never came close to eating the recommended amount. So I dutifully started making some green smoothies on my own.

At first….whoo boy. Did NOT have a sense of how much fruit/greens to add, and some of them were drinks I had to fight to get down, but I kept at it because of how healthy they are. I was reading tons of articles about green smoothies at the time, and everything kept saying how they give you so many nutrients in an easier to digest form. I knew that they could help my body start to heal.

But then, I started to figure them out. And then I started to really figure them out and make them super yummy drinks that I WANTED to drink, not something I had to fight to get down.

Husband started trying them, and really liked them as well (note: He is the first person to tell me if something I make isn’t quite up to yummy standards). I had been having them for breakfast, and then making dinner for both of us at night.

He said that he wanted to start having green smoothies regularly, and we decided to switch to having them at night. We both found significant improvements in how we slept when we were having a light meal for dinner.

We’ve both become addicted to green smoothies, and crave the nutrients we get from them. If we are having an off day health-wise, or we’ve been running around like crazy for a few days, we both know we need to load up on our greens.

Last night’s smoothie was Mango in the House!

Into the blender went:
1 cup Vanilla Hemp milk
1 cup water
1 scoop Amazing Grass Chocolate superfood
2 spoonfuls of vanilla hemp protein powder
1 stalk of rainbow chard, stem removed
2 heaping handfuls of baby spinach
1 ripe mango
3/4 cup frozen mango
1 macintosh apple

This one was super yummy, and packed with tons of Vitamin C, thanks to all the mango!

Leave a Reply

