Getting past the “don’t wannas”

Up till last Sunday, I was doing great on my running program. I was running 4 or 5 times per week, and had been for a few weeks. I could manage to motivate and go for a run even if the anti-run gremlins were out and about.

Then last week hit. I strayed from my strict dietary plan – I had fries with regular ketchup (high fructose corn syrup and sugar), and got some movie candy when Husband and I went to see The Social Network last weekend (more sugar and corn syrup). Now,  I know better, and I very rarely cheat, but sometimes, it’s hard to always eat a perfectly clean diet.

My skin started breaking out, like I knew it would. But I was out of my steroid skin creme, which will clear my skin when I have a flare-up. I don’t like using steroids in any form, but I do know that they will help me.

I didn’t have any refills left, and it took a few days for the pharmacy and doctor’s office to sort it out. By the time the prescription was finally filled, I’d had a flare up for about 4 or 5 days.

I can’t exercise when I have a flare-up, as the sweat just further irritates my skin. But the longer it goes on, the worse it becomes, till I have break out patches all over. After a few days, it starts to make its way further into my system, and I get run down and very drained. When I finally got the medicine on me, it took a few days to clear up and for me to start feeling better.

Which brings me to today. I missed my long run this weekend, and today is scheduled to be my high-intensity interval run. I didn’t get up this morning to go to the gym, and by the time I got home, I was tired and feeling definitely unmotivated. The LAST thing I wanted to do was go workout, even though I knew I would hate even more missing another workout.

Husband got me out the door tonight, by reminding me of how unhappy I would be to miss a workout, and how I would be glad that I had went.

He was right. I went, I pushed myself hard until I couldn’t go any more, and I have the satisfaction of knowing that I beat back the “don’t wannas.” Sometimes, the gremlins are extra loud, but fighting them off feels pretty good 🙂

“Just do it.” – always good motivation from Nike.

Run:

24 minutes

2.89 miles

17 intervals (30 seconds as hard as I can, 30 seconds at a recovery run pace)

5 minute recovery pace run after the first 10 intervals

A good, solid interval run.

One response to “Getting past the “don’t wannas”

  1. Pingback: Running (music) confession | The Possible Mermaid

Leave a Reply

